Your Word for This Day: World Shake

Friday, March 22, 2013

 

“And a great windstorm arose, and the waves beat into the boat, so that it was already filling. But [Jesus] was in the stern, asleep on a pillow…”
Mark 4:37-38a 

The evening light fell gently on the shore. The multitude stood aback, while Jesus and His disciples got into their boat and  prepared to make their journey across the sea. The water was calm and the boat set sail with ease. Knowing that all was well, Jesus went down into the stern and took a nap. It seemed as if everything was going well…until the wind began to act up.  The winds began to act up and show off. A great windstorm threatened the very lives of the disciples. Sound familiar?  

Although you have never been in a boat with Jesus, I am sure that you can identify with this account. When Jesus calls us to follow Him, things in our lives sometimes start to act up. Why? Because following Jesus brings transformation and not everything in your life will be able to handle the change. Jesus does not cater to our fleshly desires, rather He ministers to our spirits so that we become like Him and bring God glory.

Storms of life will come, especially as you set out to go all the way with Jesus. But, remember, He is with you. You and I may become anxious or scared when we see things starting to shake, but Jesus doesn’t get worried. He is confident in His ability to keep you. He is already at rest! All He asks is for you to say “Yes, Lord, I’ll follow” and trust Him as you go. Will you?      

1 thought on “Your Word for This Day: World Shake

  1. My exact prayer for the week was Lord just take over and lead. I will trust you. Which I have to say is hard but necessary to do bc he gave me life he has the perfect plan so I should be following his lead not the other way around. I like control so I feel incontrol but Gods way isn’t so learning to trust and obey him to direct our path.

Leave a comment