Your Word for This Day: “Power to Pray Accurately”

Thursday, August 7, 2014

prayerhands

Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought…  Romans 8: 26a

Have you ever been thankful that you didn’t get something that you prayed for?

We’ve all been there. At the moment in time, we just had to have it, couldn’t live without it, and we prayed and fasted, but God didn’t budge. Disappointed, upset and frustrated we were.

Until time passed… and it was a whole different story. We were so grateful because God said, “No”.

Many people pray, but not many people pray accurately. God did not promise to answer our idle words, He is covenant-bound to answer His Word. He says, “So shall my word be that goes forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.”  It is His word that prospers in us.

Thank God, You have the Power to pray accurately! He has given you this Power, in the presence of His Spirit, so that you would pray His Word and see the fruit of your prayers.

We say that prayer is a conversation—you speak to God and God speaks back to you. And, it is. But, prayer is also a partnership. YOU partner with God to bring HIS Kingdom to earth, to do HIS will here. It’s not just, “Lord give me, bless me, protect me.” It’s also, “Lord fill me, use me, send me. For your glory.”

You have Holy Spirit to help you. He knows our weaknesses and He is our Helper. He prays for us, and He prays through us so that God’s word returns to Him, saying, “Mission completed!

 

Leave a Reply

