Your Word for This Day: “A Matter of the Heart”

Friday, September 11, 2015

Flower-Garden-1936484

“And when He had removed him, He raised up for them David as king, to whom also He gave testimony and said, ‘I have found David the son of Jesse, a man after My own heart, who will do all My will.’” Acts 13:22

One afternoon, I sat in my front office and watched the neighbour across the street. Carefully, he walked with a white canister in one hand and a small hose connected to it in the other hand spraying every square foot of his lawn.

He was killing the weeds.

A weed is a wild plant that grows where it is not wanted – it’s growing in the wrong place. And, sometimes it grows at the expense of the desired plants or grass in the same area.

As I watched him, this scene really spoke to me. As the old saying goes, our hearts are like gardens. We have to be careful not to let weeds grow in it, and if we find one, get rid of it! Print

David was the most unlikely person for the job. He was the youngest son of Jesse. He was a shepherd-poet-singer-musician-boy. He wouldn’t have had a chance to rule. His older brothers looked the part, they were trained in battle and were experienced in the world. One of them could be king!

But, God told the Prophet Samuel, “The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” (1 Samuel 16:7b)

God is a heart man. In the eyes of God, David qualified to be King because his heart was for Him and full of His word. God could trust David with the Kingship of Israel because He would do whatever God said.

As David journeyed to the throne (it took him about 15 years to actually sit on it),He made it through the process because His heart loved God. Through the trials and tests David continued to keep his heart open before God with praise and thanksgiving and He did not allow bitterness and offense to grow in it.

This is what God desires from each one of us… our hearts.  Not perfection, but pure hearts that long for Him and are satisfied with Him alone.

As we meditate on the word of God, we are planting within our hearts the seeds that will produce a great garden. Also, through the word, the Holy Spirit shows us what’s in our hearts and the things we need to get rid of.

Unlike my neighbour, we don’t use poison. The word, God’s love letter to us, is effective to penetrate, soften and tend our hearts, so that they will always be open towards our God.

Blessings,
Michelle

Today’s Prayer:

Father, today I thank you that you are with me and that you have promised to never leave me. I give you my heart and I declare that it will be a heart of praise.

By the blood of Jesus, I draw near to you with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith, having my heart sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and my body washed with the pure water of your word.

I will, with the help of the Holy Spirit, keep my heart with all diligence for out of it flows the issues of my life. I will set my heart to study your words and to meditate on it and to do what it says.

I will forgive. I will let things go. I will give thanks in all things. My heart will be steadfast in you and I will rejoice in the God of my salvation.

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord my strength and my Redeemer.

In Jesus’ Name.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

