Your Word for This Day: First Things First

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

new me

Now we look inside, and what we see is that anyone united with the Messiah gets a fresh start, is created new. The old life is gone; a new life burgeons! Look at it!” 2 Corinthians 5:17 MSG

Let’s talk about salvation for a moment, for we cannot pursue our identity if we are not sure that we are saved and adopted into the family of God through Jesus Christ.

Yes, we know that we cannot get into heaven without salvation, but do you realize that salvation is also the foundation of your identity?  There is no discovery of the real you if you are not part of the family of God, with His name and His spirit living in you.  You would be on a wild goose chase, going after an identity that is not really yours.

Ask yourself this question, and answer it honestly: “Am I sure that I am saved?”

If you are not sure, then let us stop right now, and ensure that your name is written in the Lamb’s book of life by asking God to forgive you of your sins, wash you in His blood, put His spirit in you and to teach you to live for Him. Confess him as your Lord and Saviour and thank him for saving you.

Let’s pray…

“Jesus, I confess that You are the Son of the Living God and that You came into this world, died and rose again to save me from my sins. I have sinned against You in my thoughts, my words and my actions and I repent for all that I have done. I ask you to forgive me and cleanse me by your precious blood. I thank you for Your forgiveness and I accept you into my heart as my Lord and Saviour. Change my heart and help me to live for you all the days of my life. Amen.”

You are now empowered to continue to seek and find out all that you can about who you are in Christ, your inheritance and your position in Him. With this new birth experience comes the enablement through the power and the witness of the Holy Spirit.

Trying to discover your true identity without the help of the Holy Spirit,  would be like having a dream that will never come through.   It would be like trying to sail a ship on dry land…it just doesn’t work. A ship was designed to sail on the water and we were designed to find our identity and fulfill our destiny with the Holy Spirit’s help.

Jesus Christ reveals our identity in Him and  then the Holy Spirit is given to us to help us so that we can live daily in the knowledge of who we really are.  He sustains and maintains that identity.

The Holy Spirit is our guide, our teacher and our helper in every area of our life.  As we continue to journey to our true identity  He will guide  and help us all along the way.  Yes, we have been given the help that we need, in the person of the Holy Spirit, to fulfill this great mission of knowing who we are in Christ. Remember, The Holy Spirit does not just tell us what to do but He is there to do it with us.

Thank God for salvation.  Thank God for the Holy Spirit.  Thank God that you are not who you thought you were. Thank God for the new you. Thank God.  He deserves it!

Adapted from “Awaken to the True You” (Audio Book) By Diann J. Wilson 

Leave a Reply

