Your Word for This Day: “The I AM has Sent Me”

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

“God replied to Moses, “I AM who I AM. Say this to the people of Israel: I AM has sent me to you.”” Exodus 3: 14

exodus_3_14

This was a big job. God was ready to answer the cries of His people and deliver them from slavery in Egypt. When it looked like nothing was happening, God was preparing Moses in the wilderness to go to Pharaoh and say, “Let my people go”.

Upon hearing the assignment, Moses had great concerns. He asked God, “Who am I to appear before Pharaoh? Who am I to lead the people of Israel out of Egypt?””

Moses wasn’t so sure about God’s plan. He looked at himself, and knowing all of his shortcomings, failures and limitations, he knew that he wasn’t the one for the job.
But, what Moses didn’t understand was this:  It wasn’t really Moses who was about to deliver God’s people… God was about to deliver His people, and He would work through Moses.

God told Moses, “Say this to the people of Israel: I AM has sent me to you.”

The forever existent One – the eternal One – would be the force behind Moses’ movements, the power within him, the wisdom in his mouth. God would use Moses in a mighty way to deliver His people.


As children of God, the Spirit of the “I Am” lives in us.
God is sending us into our world as agents of liberation, and we don’t have to worry if we can do it. God wants to work through us to do great things. All He asks from us is our “yes”, and to trust and obey Him.

As we step out in obedience to Him, just as Moses did, we will see that God makes a way where there seems to be no way (Remember the 10 plagues… the Red Sea… the manna and the quail… I mean, who could do that but God?!).

God wants to work through you today – to love His people, to speak words of life to those who need it, to serve others, to bring healing in broken places. If you say “yes” and make yourself available to Him, He will show forth His power through your life.

Be strengthened today, the great “I AM” lives in you! The I AM has sent you!

Blessings and much love,

Michelle

Leave a Reply

