Your Word for This Day: “Spiritually Fit”

Monday, April 25, 2016 

“As His divine power has given to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him who called us by glory and virtue.” 2 Peter 1:3

 spiritual_fitness

It’s not just about physical health… or just about mental health or emotional health… it’s about spiritual health too. A healthy person is a whole person. Investments must be made in every part of who we are so that we develop and grow in a balanced way.

So, it’s time to learn how to exercise our spiritual “muscles” and and develop spiritual fitness.

The goal of spiritual fitness, according to the Scriptures, must be godliness. The Apostle Paul exhorts Timothy to “exercise thyself” unto godliness, and Peter declares that God has given believers “all things that pertain unto life and godliness”.

Spiritual health brings satisfaction and happiness, just as physical health does, but its worth is even more far reaching because being spiritually fit makes one ready for eternity. It must be the goal of every believer to be spiritually fit.

When talking about spiritual fitness,  the first thing we must do is to accept God’s free of Salvation. We were dead in sin before salvation. And in Christ, we become alive in righteousness. And where there is life, there is hope. Where there is life, there is also growth.

Just as with physical health, emotional health or mental healthy – it starts with a decision. We have to choose a better way. And when it comes to spiritual fitness, Jesus is that way.

If you haven’t given your life to Jesus, you can do so be believing in your heart that He is the risen Lord and Saviour and confess it with your mouth. Say this prayer today…

“Jesus, I confess that You are the Son of the Living God and that You came into this world, died and rose again to save me from my sins. I have sinned against You in my thoughts, my words and my actions and I repent for all that I have done. I ask you to forgive me and cleanse me by your precious blood. I thank you for Your forgiveness and I accept you into my heart as my Lord and Saviour. Change my heart and help me to live for you all the days of my life. Amen.”

This decision is the most important one we will ever make.  Now, we can begin to learn how to exercise our spiritual muscles so that we can become spiritually strong! You have all that you need, now it’s time to get off the “couch” and into the gym of the Holy Spirit. Are you ready? 

Blessings,

Michelle

2 thoughts on “Your Word for This Day: “Spiritually Fit”

  1. Pingback: To believe in the liberation of slavery and to repent | From guestwriters

  2. Pingback: A typical question from my Sunday morning adult study. | A voice in the wilderness

Leave a Reply

