Your Word for This Day: “Living in Submission to God”

Thursday, August 18, 2016 

“Submit yourselves therefore to God.  Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.” James 4:7

Clouds and female hand waving with a white flag to surrender

Submission is not a word that believers are very comfortable with.  It causes us to get very defensive and forceful in our responses and demeanor. Why must we submit?

If we submit, others will take advantage of us.  Many such excuses are designed to keep us from submitting to God and others in authority and they are all lies from the enemy.

The Word of God says to submit and that should settle the matter.  We must submit to God if we want to have any power over sin and the devil. Have you ever wondered why your walk with God is sometimes so weak and stagnant?  Could it possibly be because of your level of submission to Him?

There is power in submission. 

When we submit to God we are surrendering our will, our thoughts, our actions, in fact, our very lives, into His capable hands.  Then we will be able to say like Paul, “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.”

The enemy cannot defeat the God in you but he can defeat you if you are not submitted to God.  Many believers try to use the authority that Jesus gave to us to rebuke and cast out the devil, but without success.  It is not that the blood or the name of Jesus has lost its power.  No my friend, it is because they have not submitted their lives to Christ.  The enemy knows this and so he can stand against them and win. Once you give your life to Christ, the enemy will flee.  He has no choice.

Jesus has already defeated Satan.  He knows that.  You have not defeated him, Jesus has.  Our all-powerful, mighty, awesome God has done the job for us.  All He asks is that we submit ourselves to Him so that we can have the victory over the enemy. Don’t you want that?

My God, I come to You in the name of Jesus.  Your Word teaches me submission to You and I want to do it for I want to walk in obedience.  Lord, help me to renew my mind and grant me the strength to lay my will down just like Jesus did.  I thank You for hearing and answering my prayer.     Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

