Your Word for This Day: “He Is…”

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.” Psalm 23:1 

tlims-banner

“Is ” – This two letter word carries great meaning. It is a verb in the present tense.  The Lord is – meaning right here and right now.  Where ever you are, whatever you are doing, whatever is happening in your life right at this very moment can be changed because the Lord is.

He is whatever you need Him to be. He is wherever you need Him to be.

This should bring much peace and assurance to your troubled soul. If your soul is disquieted within you, after reading that the Lord is, you should smile.

Remember the words God used to describe Himself to Moses?  He said “I am that I am”. He spoke about Himself in the present tense also.

When Jesus walked the earth as the Son of God, He too described Himself in the present tense:

  • “I am the way, the truth, and the life” (John 14:6).
  • “I am the Good Shepherd” (John 10:11, 14).
  • “I am the door” (John 10:9).
  • “I am the light of the world” (John 8:12).

David, in this powerful psalm is reminding us that God is not a God of the past or a God of the future.  He is a God who is present.  The Lord is.

The Lord is here.

The Lord is taking care of you.

The Lord is helping you.

The Lord is providing for you.

The Lord is…

Today’s Affirmation:

Today I rejoice in the fact that my God is with me.  I see Him working things out for my good and for His Glory.  I give thanks to Him for what He has done and what He is doing.  I celebrate the goodness of the Lord my God today.

 

Leave a Reply

