Your Word for This Day: “You Prepare a Table Before Me”

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

“You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over.” Psalm 23:5

table

The king of love my shepherd is

Whose goodness changes never

I lack nothing for I am His

And he is mine forever.

Henry W. Baker, 1868

These are the words of an old hymn.  They so aptly summarize the scripture for today.

Our Shepherd prepares our table.  Such is the scene of a waiter in a restaurant fixing the table for us to sit and eat.  He sets the table with the best cutlery, glasses, napkins and plates.  There is usually some small, but beautiful, centerpiece to add to the elegant ambiance.

Our Shepherd does that and more.

Everything that is necessary for us at any given point in our journey is put on the table by our Shepherd.  Each table that He prepares is accurate and will meet the exact needs of the person for whom it was prepared.

He treats us as individuals, and so He knows what is uniquely for us. He will not let another fix your table; He fixes your table for Himself because He knows your every need.

No one knows you as good as your Shepherd does. 

Would you sit at the table that was prepared for you with love?  I pray that today you would allow Him to pull out the chair for you to sit, and allow Him to feed you. Sit at the table of grace and mercy.  Sit at the table of abundance and joy.  Sit at the table of peace and love, of health and wholeness.

Remember that whatever you have need of today is on the table. Your table has been prepared just for you and you alone.

Today’s affirmation:

God knows me better than I know myself. He will provide whatever I need to get through today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

